Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Department is the nodal agency in the State for providing drinking water and Sanitation facilities in rural areas. Drinking water facilities are being provided through various types of schemes such as hand pumps, PWS Schemes and CPWS Schemes.


  • To provide every rural person with adequate safe water for drinking, cooking and other basic needs on sustainable basis
  • Ensure that by 2022, every rural person is supplied 70 LPCD safe water within their household premises or at a horizontal or vertical distance not more than 50 meters from their household

Assets Status:

CPWS Schemes :32 PWS/MPWS Schemes : 2821

Direct Pumping : 1201 Hand Pumps : 18914

Habitation Status (as per 55 LPCD):

  • Fully Covered Habitations : 1678
  • Partially Covered Habitations : 1414
  • Quality affected habitations : 26
  • Total Habitations : 3118

Program on hand:

  • 198 SVS& 4 MVS schemes are on hand costing Rs.102.56Crores to cover about 296habitations.

b) Organization Chart



c) Action Plan for 2019-20

  • During 2019-20, 144 habitations are targeted for coverage with an anticipated expenditure of Rs.72.04crores.

YSR Sujala:

  • The Government has decided to cover all problematic habitations (Flouride + Scarcity) with safe drinking water through community treatment plants by Hub & Spoke model (clusters), which is covering 14 Mandals with 731 habitations.

Drinking Water Corporation(Water Grid)

  • To overcome severe drinking water problems in this district, the detailed proposed project report to be prepared for providing Potable Drinking water with surface water from sustainable sources to Rural and Urban Localities including demand for cattle & Industries with a clear water demand of Rural – 100LPCD, Urban-135 LPCD, Cattle -20LPCD & Industries – 10% on total demand.
  • The Detailed Project report preparation is in progress and will be submit to the government on or before 15.09.2019.

Management Information System (MIS):

RWS&S Department is having its own application “watersoft” and implementing the following modules through NIC: URL (

d) Contacts of Branch Office Employees :

Sl.NO Name of the Officer Designation Circle / Division/ Sub-Division Phone Number
1 Sri M. Srinivasa Kumar Superintending Engineer (FAC) Nellore Circle 9100121700
2 Sri M. Srinivasa Kumar Executive Engineer Nellore Division 9100121746
3 SmtK.V.NagaJyothi Executive Engineer Gudur Division 9100121707
4 Sri M.LeelaPrakash Deputy Executive Engineer Nellore Projects 9100121758
5 Sri N.V.K.Durga Prasad Deputy Executive Engineer Gudur Projects 9441820418
6 Sri M. Srinivasulu Deputy Executive Engineer Nellore V&QC 9100121761
7 Sri L.Laxman Deputy Executive Engineer Gudur Sub-Division 9100121714
8 Sri G.Nanda Kumar Deputy Executive Engineer Sullurupeta Sub-Division 9100121730
9 Sri B. Mohan Rao Deputy Executive Engineer Venkatagiri Sub-Division 9100121720
10 Sri S.VenkataswaraRao Deputy Executive Engineer Atmakur Sub-Division 9100121783
11 Sri I. Venkateswarlu Deputy Executive Engineer Kavali Sub-Division 9100121779
12 Sri V. VenugopalRao, Deputy Executive Engineer Kovur Sub-Division 9100121759
13 Sri T.Sudhakar Deputy Executive Engineer Nellore Sub-Division 9100121753
14 Sri I. Venkateswarlu (FAC) Deputy Executive Engineer Vinjamur Sub-Division 9100121768

e) Email & Postal Address :

se_rws_nlr[at]ap[dot]gov[dot]in & serwsnlr[at]gmail[dot]com

Postal Address :

Superintending Engineer,

RWS&S Department,

New ZP office Compound,

Podalakur Road,Dargamitta

Nellore – 524003